Term Dates

2019-2020

Autumn Term 2019

Event Date Further Information
New boarding pupils arrive 
Current Year 12 boarders return
Wednesday 28 August Houses open from 09:00. New boarding students to arrive before 12:00;
Current Year 12 boarders to arrive before 18:00
New Day & Boarding students’ induction
Year 12 induction
Current boarders return
Thursday 29 August Current boarders to arrive before 19:00
TERM STARTS Friday 30 August All students in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 September  
HALF TERM Tuesday 15 - Sunday 27 October Begins at 16:00 on Tuesday 15 October for Year 11 and begins when the Years 7-10 and Sixth Form residential trips return; ends at 19:00 Sunday 27 October
EXEAT Saturday 16 and Sunday 17 November  
END OF TERM Thursday 12 December at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30 and Boarding Houses are open until 20:00 on Thursday 12 December

 

Spring Term 2020

Event Date Further Information
Boarding students return Sunday 5 January Houses open from 09:00
TERM STARTS Monday 6 January All students in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 January  
HALF TERM Friday 14 - Sunday 23 February Begins at 16:15 on Friday 14 February; ends at 19:00 Sunday 23 February
EXEAT Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 March  
END OF TERM Friday 27 March at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30 and Boarding Houses are open until 20:00 on Friday 27 March

 

Summer Term 2020

Event Date Further Information
Boarding students return Sunday 19 April Houses open from 09:00
TERM STARTS Monday 20 April All students in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Friday 8 May (Bank Holiday), Saturday 9 May and Sunday 10 May Changed from Saturday 2, Sunday 3 and Monday 4 May
HALF TERM Friday 22 May - Sunday 31 May Begins at 16:15 on Friday 22 May; ends at 19:00 Sunday 31 May
EXEAT Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 June  
END OF TERM Friday 26 June at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30 and Boarding Houses are open until 20:00 on Friday 26 June

 

Whole School Events 2019-2020

Please note: pupils and staff are required to be in school for the following school days:

Event Date Further Information
Open Morning Saturday 5 October 2019 Ends at 13:00
Speech Day and Prize Giving Saturday 2 November 2019 For Years 10-13
Christmas Fair Saturday 7 December 2019  
Open Morning Saturday 7 March 2020 Ends at 13:00
Open Morning Saturday 25 April 2020 Ends at 13:00
Roedean Day and Prizegiving Saturday 20 June 2020  

2020-2021

Autumn Term 2020

Event Date Further Information
NEW boarding pupils arrive
CURRENT Year 12 boarders return
Wednesday 2 September Houses open from 09:00. New boarding pupils to arrive before 12:00;
Current Year 12 boarders to arrive before 18:00
NEW Day & Boarding pupils’ induction
YEAR 12 induction
CURRENT boarders return
Thursday 3 September Current boarders to arrive before 19:00
TERM STARTS
CURRENT Day pupils return
Friday 4 September All pupils in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Saturday 26 and Sunday 27 September  
HALF TERM Tuesday 20 October - Sunday 1 November Begins at 17:00 on Tuesday 20 October*; ends at 19:00 Sunday 1 November 
EXEAT Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 November  
END OF TERM Friday 11 December at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30 

*End of half term to be confirmed (depending on residential trips which are to be confirmed).

Spring Term 2021

Event Date Further Information
Boarding pupils return Sunday 3 January Houses open from 09:00
TERM STARTS Monday 4 January All pupils in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 January  
HALF TERM Friday 12 - Sunday 21 February Begins at 16:15 on Friday 12 February; ends at 19:00 Sunday 21 February
EXEAT Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 March  
END OF TERM Friday 26 March at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30 
EASTER REVISION WEEK Monday 29 March - Thursday 1 April For Years 11 and 13

 

Summer Term 2021

Event Date Further Information
Boarding students return Sunday 18 April Houses open from 09:00
TERM STARTS Monday 19 April All students in school for First Chapel & Handshaking
EXEAT Saturday 1, Sunday 2 and Monday 3 May (Bank Holiday)  
HALF TERM Friday 28 May - Sunday 6 June Begins at 16:15 on Friday 28 May; ends at 19:00 Sunday 6 June
EXEAT Saturday 19 and Sunday 20 June  
END OF TERM Friday 2 July at 12:00 Day minibuses depart 12:30

 

Whole School Events 2020-2021

Please note: pupils and staff are required to be in school for the following school days:

Event Date Further Information
Open Morning Saturday 2 October 2020 tbc Ends at 13:00
Speech Day and Prize Giving Saturday 7 November 2020 tbc  
Christmas Fair Saturday 5 December 2020 tbc  
Open Morning Saturday 6 March 2021 tbc Ends at 13:00
Open Morning Saturday 8 May 2021 tbc Ends at 13:00
Roedean Day and Prizegiving Saturday 26 June 2021 tbc  
Two students holding pieces of art in the studio
Swimmers about to dive off the starting block
Dance performers looking up and wearing green sequined costumes
Students smiling whilst playing violins
Student feeding a sheep on the farm
Performers in the 'Oliver' play onstage
Students dancing in black and white costumes
Students looking down in a cooking lesson