Home > Old Roedeanians > Governors
Founders' Board which features 130 names

Governors’ AGM 2015

The 2015 Governors’ AGM will be held on Monday 2 March 2015 at Inner Temple (Drawing Room),  London  EC4Y 7HL at 6.15pm.  Registration will be from 5.30pm.

A copy of the Annual Report & Accounts can be downloaded here.


In 1920, a Company called Roedean School, Limited, was formed to own the School, be responsible for its liabilities and to control, through its Council, the general policy of the School.

Members of the Company were called Governors (a unique use of this term in English schools). 

The Royal Charter

In December 1938, King George VI awarded Roedean the Royal Charter.

Writing at the time, Sir Paul Lawrence [brother of the founders] said, “The grant of a Royal Charter to a Public School proclaims to the world that it is a first-rate school in every respect. It behoves everyone interested in its success to redouble his or her effort to keep up its high tradition and good name and make it more successful than ever.” 

A Corporation replaced the original 1920 Company when the Charter was awarded, and this now controls the School through a Council of Trustees. The role of Governors, like many aspects of the constitution, remained unchanged in the transition.

All Governors, as defined in the Charter, are either Old Roedeanians or members of Council. In fact, members of Council are effectively governors of Roedean in the traditional sense.  

The current President of Governors is Lady Patten of Barnes, and her Vice-Presidents are  Dr Jean Peacey and Mrs Sheila Fowler-Watt. The Governors have an AGM each year, usually held in London.

All content © Roedean 2012 | Roedean Way, Brighton, BN2 5RQ | Registered Charity No. 307063