Home > Old Roedeanians > OR Event Archive > Founders & Commemoration Day Nov 2011
Lawrence Sisters founders of Roedean Sussex Independent School

Founders & Commemoration Day November 2011

This year’s service on 25 November was an extra-special occasion, with the inclusion of Roedean Old Boys' Association members on the list of those remembered.

The Founders & Commemoration Day Service is an opportunity for the whole school to come together to honour Roedean’s founders and benefactors, and remember all those from the Roedean Community who have sadly died in the past year.

Twenty eight family members and friends of ORs attended in memory of their loved ones, and 91-year old Dickie Dunn who was stationed at Roedean during its time as WW2 Naval training facility ‘HMS Vernon’, represented our unique ‘Roedean Old Boys’ Association’.

A full list of those remembered at this service is shown below:

Old Roedeanians

Sylvia H Bailey (Hodgson, No. 1, 1946-53); Daphne M Carey (Hodges, No. 3, 1933-36); Joan C Cripps (Squires, No. 1, 1935-40); Joan M Day (Spence, No. 3, 1925-31); Joanne G S Dupree (Bishop, No. 3, 1931-35); Ruth V Forsyth (Corrie, No. 2, 1932-36); Sue Freeman (Fineberg, No. 3, 1952-54); Anne H B Grantham (Lawson, No. 2, 1940-45); Pauline (Paula) F M Haigh (Cannon, No. 1, 1935-37); Anne C Kruger (Wheelwright, No. 4, 1951-56); Barbara J Lumsden (McClean, No. 4, 1956-60); Anana Nwuba (No. 1, 1997-02); Stephanie J Parsons (Tanner, No. 3, 1931-39); Christine Pembridge (piano teacher 1963-99); Elisabeth M Stone (Simpson, No. 2, 1935-40); Margaret H Washington OBE (Hasell, No. 4, 1940-43); Shirley White (Brayshaw, No. 3, 1943-45) Margaret S Young (Saint, No. 1, 1936-40).

Roedean Old Boys' Association

For the first time this year, we honoured our Roedean Old Boys and Wrens, who spent time at Roedean from 1940-45 when it was known as HMS Vernon.

Mr F J Barrett; Mr George Wilson Bell; Mr Edwin Chapman; Mr Peter Day; Mr Robert AD Foster; Mr R L Hamlet; Mr Emlyn B Jones; Mr Alan BA Lundholm; Mr Sam Morley; Mr J and Mrs V Parsons; Mr P Renouf; Mr Colin F Savage; Mr A Scouler; Mr Samuel Smith; Mr P T Westwood; Mrs V Woodford; Mr R M Woolger; Mr C E and Mrs A E Worthington.

'We thank you for all that they gave to this school during their time here. We thank you for the lives they touched afterwards and for all that was very special about each of them to those who knew and loved them.  May they rest in peace and let light perpetual shine upon them.'

All content © Roedean 2012 | Roedean Way, Brighton, BN2 5RQ | Registered Charity No. 307063
Website by Avenue Digital