Roedean Day
Home > Admissions

The independent school admissions process

Admissions is more than just a process. It's about finding the right girls to join a very special community.

We choose girls who will make the most of the opportunities offered to them and who will contribute fully to the life of the school.

The process itself, though, is as stress free as possible, and we are here to offer as much guidance and support to each family as necessary.

We advise applying between 12-18 months before entry.

Key dates

You will see that there are set dates for certain elements. However, we understand that work relocations and family circumstances aren’t always so neatly timetabled.

If this is the case, please don’t hesitate to contact us and we will do our best to accommodate you.

September 2016 Entry


Open Morning – 10am

Saturday 3 October 2015

UK Sixth Form Information Afternoon (Internal & External) - 4.30pm

Tuesday 6 October 2015

Year 7 Brighthelm Launch - 10am

Thursday 15 October 2015

Sixth Form Brighthelm Launch – 2pm

Thursday 15 October 2015

UK Registration Deadline for ALL Year Groups Years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 12

Monday 2 November 2015

Discovery Day

Thursday 12 November 2015

Bursary Application Deadline for Sixth Form

Monday 16 November 2015

UK Sixth Form (including Brighthelm) Entrance Exam Day (English, Maths and General Paper).  U5 SCP candidates will sit General Paper at the same time.

Thursday 19 November 2015

UK Sixth Form (Non Brighthelm) and U5 Scholarship Assessments 

Tuesday 24 November 2015

Bursary Application Deadline – Years 7,8,9 & 10

Tuesday 1 December 2015

Scholarship Application Deadline (Years 7 & 9)

Tuesday 1 December 2015

Practical Scholarship Assessments

w/c Monday 11 January 2016

Sixth Form Brighthelm Interviews

w/c Monday 11 January 2016

Entrance Exams (including Academic Scholarship)

Saturday 16 January 2016

Scholarship and Year 7 Brighthelm Interviews

w/c Monday 25 January 2016

Bursary Awards Meeting

Thursday 4 February 2016

Offers Out

Tuesday 9 February 2016

Open Morning – 10am

Saturday 5 March 2016

Acceptance Deadline

Monday 7 March 2016

Open Morning – 10am

B/H Monday 2 May 2016

Visiting the school

If you think Roedean might be right for your daughter, we look forward to meeting you.  Many families visit two or three times - by attending an Open Day, having a Taster Day or by making an individual visit.

Contact Diana Banham, Registrar, on 01273 667626 to arrange your visit.

In the meantime, for a different perspective, read why our staff love working at Roedean.

All content © Roedean 2012 | Roedean Way, Brighton, BN2 5RQ | Registered Charity No. 307063